Latest News

Australia scrap day-night Adelaide Test post India refusal

Melbourne [Australia], May 8 : Cricket Australia has confirmed that India will not play a day-night Test in Adelaide during their upcoming tour to Australia later this year.

Australia had been trying to convince the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) to play the opening match of their Test series at the Adelaide Oval under lights, but the visitors have refused for a day-night affair.

As a result, the Adelaide Test between the two sides this summer will be played during the day time.
"We can confirm that we have received advice from the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) that it is not prepared to participate in a proposed Day-Night Test in Adelaide this summer," quoted Cricket Australia spokesperson, as saying.

"Whilst we appreciate some Adelaide fans may be disappointed, we know how popular the Adelaide Test is and look forward to hosting India there in December," he added.

Australia will now instead play a day-night Test match against Sri Lanka in Brisbane when the two-sides head into a two-match Test series, beginning at the Gabba from January 24.

"We are committed to hosting at least one Day-Night Test each home summer as part of our continued focus to grow Test cricket, and we are excited about the Day-Night Test against Sri Lanka at the Gabba in January," the spokesperson added.

Recently, Indian cricket team head coach Ravi Shastri had met the Supreme Court-appointed Committee of Administrators (CoA) and informed them that the management and the team need more time to prepare for the Test matches under lights.

As per the decision of CoA, BCCI acting secretary had reportedly conveyed the board's decision to not play pink-ball Test to the Cricket Australia.

It should be noted that India are one of only two Full Members nations - the other being Bangladesh - to have not played a day-night Test at international level.

Australia are slated to play three-match T20I series against India from November 21 to November 25 followed by their Test series for the Border-Gavaskar Trophy in Adelaide from December 6.

The two sides will then play their second Test in the newly-built Perth Stadium (December 14-18) before heading to Melbourne and Sydney for the traditional Boxing Day and New Year's games.
Subsequently, Australia will play three-match ODI series against India, beginning January 12 at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

No comments:

Post a Comment

aruns MALAR TV english Designed by Copyright © 2014

Powered by Blogger.